Next Time I’d Pick More Daisies

I was given this poem at a church meeting and it made me a little sad.  We miss so many opportunities for joy because we are rushing here and there to appointments and functions.  We just don’t take the time to slow down and love the blessings we are constantly experiencing.

When you read it, you can’t help but think about living your life a little differently.

When I did a little research on the article or poem I found that it is attributed to Don Herold as published in a 1953 Readers Digest issue.

Interestingly, it then appeared years later as seen below and is attributed to Nadine Stair.

If I Had My Life to Live Over, I’d Pick More Daisies

If I had my life to live over,

I’d try to make more mistakes next time.

I would relax. I would limber up.

I would be sillier than I have on this trip.

I would be crazier. I would be less hygienic.

I would take more chances, I would take more trips.

I would climb more mountains,

swim more rivers,

and watch more sunsets.

I would burn more gasoline. I would eat more ice cream and less beans.

I would have more actual troubles and fewer imaginary ones.

You see, I am one of those people who lives

sensibly and sanely, hour after hour, day after day.

Oh, I have had my moments

And if I had it to do over again, I’d have more of them

In fact, I’d try to have nothing else.

Just moments, one after another,

Instead of living so many years ahead each day.

I have been one of those people who never go anywhere

without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a gargle, a

raincoat, and a parachute.

If I had to do it over again, I would go places and do things.

I’d travel lighter than I have.

If I had my life to live over, I would start barefooted

earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall.

I would play hooky more. I wouldn’t make such good grades

except by accident.

I would ride on merry-go-rounds.

I’d pick more daisies!

Great Success & Abundant Blessings in All You Do!

Sandy Blomstrom

“What I am looking for…is not out there…it is in me.”  Helen Keller

PS:   Are your tools to promote your business costing you too much each month? Visit  http://ibourl.com/1dmr   and watch your business take off.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,136 other followers

  • Motivating MLM Professionals

  • Recent Tweets

